Access Denied errors with scheduled jobs

• Hi,

I am fairly new to using DTS and I am having trouble with scheduling jobs. I get flat files dumped onto one of our servers and need these imported on a daily basis. I have set up DTS packages and scheduled them at various times. This has been working well for the last few months, but has suddenly stopped working since yesterday. The packages still run fine if I just execute them, but the scheduled jobs don't work.

When I checked the package logs I found the following error:

"Step Error Source: Microsoft Data Transformation Services Flat File Rowset Provider  Step Error Description:Error opening datafile: Access is denied.    Step Error code: 80004005  Step Error Help FileTSFFile.hlp  Step Error Help Context ID:0  "

I have scanned some forums which seem to suggest checking the SQLAgent account, but I am very new to this game and am not sure what exactly I should be looking for and where.

Help anyone?

Thanks in advance!

• This was removed by the editor as SPAM

• Yes, this is most likely a security issue.  More than likely the account your SQLServerAgent is using no longer has access to the files you want to import.  To find out what account your Agent is using open Enterprise Manager, expand the server instance you are using, then the management folder, then right click on SQL Server Agent and choose properties.  The top section of this dialog box will show the Agent account either as a system account, or This account, with an account name specified.  Once you know which user you're talking about then we can proceed.  This could be due to a number of reasons.  Let's start with the most obvious and work from there.