Accessing SQL Server with other Client tools

• I have been working with SQL Server 2005 since 2 years and have always used SQL Server Management Studio to access it. I am in a new project and here they use SQL Teradata Assistant to access SQL Server 2005.

Though I have been able work my ways around I have noticed some t -sql commands like "print" and "go" do not work.

I want to know and convince my new team to get sql server management studio to work with SQL Server. Hence I need to know the cons of using the new tool instead of SQL Server Management studio.

• Guys, I need an answer in general. What can be the disadvantages of using any 3rd party tool other than sql server mgnt studio.. I dont answer specific to sql Teradata only

please reply to my post.. its urgent

• I cannot see any problems with using 3-rd party client tools if they bring any benefits.

However, why using 3-rd party client tools should stop you from using SSMS?

Is it some sort of company "policy" from idiotic policy-makers?

How to post your question to get the best and quick help[/url]

• itskanchanhere, we are all volunteers here and post in our spare time so please do be patient if you dont get a responce straight away.

i would say use the right tool for the job, if SQL Teradata Assistant does what it needs to do then fine, if not then use SSMS.

as its MSSQL i would use SSMS, its designed and packaged with MSSQL so why not use it, ive worked in a mixture of platforms in one environment before and always used the platforms own SQL tools to manage that platform

• itskanchanhere (3/15/2012)

Guys, I need an answer in general. What can be the disadvantages of using any 3rd party tool other than sql server mgnt studio.. I dont answer specific to sql Teradata only

please reply to my post.. its urgent