CSV file creation

• Hi,

I want to generate CSV files based on location.

i have a location master assume values will be India, US, CA, etc...

based on the location i want to create and save my CSV file.

example: if location is India, my csv file should be saved as India02022008.csv

if Canada -- canada02022008.csv

02022008 -- should be current date and time.

• I'm not sure precisely what you're asking, but I'll give it a shot...

You can use a variable defined by an expression.

I assume the package knows which location it is dealing with during run time.

1. Create a variable that contains the location (India, US, etc.)

2. Create a second variable that uses an expression to build the filename using the first variable plus the date format you want

3. The CSV file destination object's connection string can also be set using an expression that can reference your dynamically built filename

BOL has a good deal of info on how to use the expression builder if you need help.

Hope this gives you a good start.

Dan

• Good advise above, I would recommend you use the for each looping container to break each segment of data out into separate csv files.

Basically it would go like this.

1.) select a distinct list of locations back from your data source. This will create you list of files to create.

2.) Inside the looping container execute another select with a WHERE clause matching the location variable.

3.) Output to CSV file as laid out above.

Off to the races!

• Hello,

Can you please tell me how to create CSV file......?

• This link should get you set.

http://msdn2.microsoft.com/en-us/library/ms141668.aspx

• Some points to look out for when creating the SP or just executing the OpenRowset command shown below.

1. Be sure the text file being accessed does exist on the Server which hosts the instance of SQL Server In this example:

D:\MSSQL\','SELECT * FROM Test.txt' is the full path name to the text file where the ouput will be written.