JUST FED UP with SSIS. Simple copy of 800 tables to another database...

• I'm new to SSIS but not SQL. Still, this has been a mess of monumental proportions. Between wrestling with VS 2005, SSMS, SSIS, Packages, Wizards, Protection Levels, configurations (still haven't found a page telling me what they are and where to store them) and the like it's been a confusing and infuriating MESS.

For now I'm using a stored procedure to drop tables at my destination, then INSERT INTO from the source. I'm sure it's not the fastest, but it's the most controllable / configurable.

Sorry for the shouting. I'm at my wits end.

I just want to copy 800 tables 'as is' from one database to another on the same server. Here's what I tried:

- Use remote desktop to login to the SQL Server

- Used the 'Export Data' Wizard in SQL to create an SSIS package to export 800 + tables from source database to destination database -- I HAD TO MANUALLY CHECK THEM ALL OFF. I also made sure I excluded views, as this stupid thing tries to create views as tables on the destination!!!

- Set mappings, telling the package to drop tables at the destination before copying

- Specified 'use server roles' as my ProtectionLevel

- Told it to run as SERVERNAME\Administrator, the account I was logged in as, the account which has sa-level privileges on SQL

- Saved the package

- Ran it manually on the server - Succeeds sometimes, fails other times. "Cannot insert duplicate key row in object 'dbo.abccode' with unique index 'abcidx'." This, even though I told it to drop tables.

- If it ran manually I'd schedule a job - IT WOULD ALWAYS FAIL.

I also get other errors along the lines of "could not decrypt XML password" although the error log has scrolled that out of sight now so I don't have the exact terminology.