migrate tables from multiple database into one table

• hi all,

i am very new to SQL Server, and i am using both SQL2000 and 2005.i am attempting to integrate redundant tables from multiple databases into one table in another database.so,i have tableA in databaseA,which has say 5 fields.and then i have tableB in databaseB,which has around 8 columns.some of these columns are the same.So i want to merge these two into tableC in databaseC..DO i need to painstakingly recreate the tables in databaseC?or is there a way to do it in SQL2000?

i have searched the internet about this,but i cant seem to get any sensible solutions.maybe im looking at the wrong place.if someone could point me in the right direction,i would be very happy..

thanks alot!:)

• The long answer is: it depends.

Let's assume that the 8 column table is supposed to be retained in it's entirety and that you're supposed to create that, load it, and then load the 5 column table.

SELECT Col1

,Col2

,Col3

,Col4

,Col5

,Col6

,Col7

,Col8

INTO MyNewTable

FROM db1.dbo.OldTable1

INSERT MyNewTable (

Col1

,Col3

,Col4

,Col6

,Col8)

SELECT Col1

,Col2

,Col3

,Col4

,Col5

FROM db2.dbo.OldTable2

That doesn't create primary keys and foreign keys, indexes, all the rest, but it is a way to avoid typing out the column definitions.

----------------------------------------------------The credit belongs to the man who is actually in the arena, whose face is marred by dust and sweat and blood... Theodore RooseveltThe Scary DBAAuthor of: SQL Server 2017 Query Performance Tuning, 5th Edition and SQL Server Execution Plans, 3rd EditionProduct Evangelist for Red Gate Software

• Hi

You can script the 8 column table and then insert the data from the two tables. By scripting the table atleast you get the primary key, indexes of the 8 column table. You will have to create other indexes if required.

Can u tell us why you want to do this especially since the 2 redundant tables in lie in 2 diff databases ?