Most efficient way of finding and storing where there are duplicate entries

• Hi

I'm just learning about CTE and the WITH statement. I find it trickier to write at the moment but which would you say is the best solution to finding duplicate values in my table rows ::-

`Output plan 1 :-

SELECT ID4, DATERECORD INTO TABLEMIX2

FROM TABLEMIX

GROUP BY ID4, DATERECORD

HAVING COUNT(ID3)>1 AND COUNT(ID4)>1 AND COUNT(DATERECORD)>1 –- ..10 more AND COUNT precedents to follow

ORDER BY ID4

Output plan 2 :-

WITH TESTTABLE_CTE (ID3, ID4, DATERECORD)

AS

(

SELECT ID3, ID4, DATERECORD

FROM dbo.TABLEMIX

GROUP BY ID3, ID4, DATERECORD

HAVING COUNT(ID3)>1 AND COUNT(ID4)>1 AND COUNT(DATERECORD)>1 –- ..10 more AND COUNT precedents to follow

)INSERT INTO TESTTABLE3 (ID3, ID4, DATERECORD)

SELECT ID3, ID4, DATERECORD FROM TESTTABLE_CTE

Output plan 3 :-

WITH TABLEMIX_CTE (ROWNUM, ID3, ID4, DATERECORD)

AS

(

SELECT ROW_NUMBER() OVER (PARTITION BY ID3, ID4, DATERECORD ORDER BY ID4),ID3,ID4,DATERECORD –- ..10 more AND COUNT precedents to follow

AS ROWNUM

FROM TABLEMIX

)

INSERT INTO TESTTABLE3 (ID3, ID4, DATERECORD)

SELECT ID3, ID4, DATERECORD FROM TABLEMIX_CTE WHERE ROWNUM=2 -- to pick out any duplicate entry – if there are 2 or more then it will output for creating new table entry

`

Plan 1 creates the table first if it doesn;t exist also.

Cheers

James

• mastersql (12/9/2015)

Hi

I'm just learning about CTE and the WITH statement. I find it trickier to write at the moment but which would you say is the best solution to finding duplicate values in my table rows ::-

`Output plan 1 :-

SELECT ID4, DATERECORD INTO TABLEMIX2

FROM TABLEMIX

GROUP BY ID4, DATERECORD

ORDER BY ID4

Output plan 2 :-

WITH TESTTABLE_CTE (ID3, ID4, DATERECORD)

AS

(

SELECT ID3, ID4, DATERECORD

FROM dbo.TABLEMIX

GROUP BY ID3, ID4, DATERECORD

)INSERT INTO TESTTABLE3 (ID3, ID4, DATERECORD)

SELECT ID3, ID4, DATERECORD FROM TESTTABLE_CTE

Output plan 3 :-