Problem in passing of parameters in a stored procedure. Please help.

• Dear SQLCentral.com members and administrators,

Hello guys, a greeting of peace.

It is my first time here so I want to say sorry if in case this thread of mine is not in a proper discussion thread, because to be honest I am new to SQL Server and some technicalities are still broad to me, but I am trying my best to study more about Microsoft SQL server.

I created a table named [font="Courier New"]Student[/font] and has four (4) fields: [font="Courier New"]id[/font], [font="Courier New"]fn[/font], [font="Courier New"]mi[/font], and [font="Courier New"]ln[/font] respectively (all are [font="Courier New"]NVARCHAR(20)[/font] type).

I entered two (2) dummy data on my table, and here are the data:

id fn mi ln

-------------------------------

001 PETER P PARKER

002 ANTHONY A STARK

I created a stored procedure named [font="Courier New"]SearchRecords[/font], this will be used in my C# program that will search for a data depending if he/she want to search by [font="Courier New"]id[/font], or by [font="Courier New"]fn[/font], or by [font="Courier New"]mi[/font], or by [font="Courier New"]ln[/font] . Here is the code of my stored procedure:

CREATE PROCEDURE SearchRecords

@searchQuery AS NVARCHAR(100),

@col AS VARCHAR(100)

AS

BEGIN

SET NOCOUNT ON;

DECLARE @SQL NVARCHAR(1000)

DECLARE @value NVARCHAR(20)

SET @value = @searchQuery

IF (@col = 'PERSON_ID')

BEGIN

SET @SQL = 'SELECT * FROM [Student] WHERE [id] = ' + @value

END

ELSE IF (@col = 'FIRST_NAME')

BEGIN

SET @SQL = 'SELECT * FROM [Student] WHERE [fn] = ' + @value

END

EXEC (@SQL)

END

I tried to execute my stored procedure to check if it's working before I use it in my code in C#.

I execute this in a stored procedure using a new query:

EXEC SearchRecords '001','id'

I get this result (which is good):

id fn mi ln

----------------------------

001 PETER P PARKER