Questions on howto properly setup for backup and restorign

• Hello everyone!

I am pretty new to SQL here. Been using it for about 3 months now.

I have some questions on how to properly setup my SQL server to be backed up properly so I can restore as needed. Let me lay down some ground work.

We have one SQL server with one database, our primary database. We are using Veritas BackupExec 11D for our backup solution (SQL option).

We have LT-03 backup tape, with gives us 400gb backup and 800gb when compressed. our Database, with logs, is about 55gigs. We have plenty of network bandwidth to have speedy backups.

here is my question and please bare with me, I am really new and learning here.

Right now, we have setup backup exec to backup the databse FULL each night. This is ok for us because we have the space on our tapes. My question comes with regards to the transaction logs.

In the veritas agent, I have the option of backing up the logs and either truncating them, or not truncating them. The question is, im not sure which way to go.

Anyone want to lend some suggestions?

Such as, should I keep the backup recover method as FULL or should I switch to SIMPLE?

Secondly, since I can backup the database FULL each now, what would be the best way to backup the t-logs? Should I backup up the t-logs on say Friday and truncate them that same night and then just backup the logs Monday-Thursday and NOT truncate them? That would mean that I would need to keep Friday-Thursday in case of a restore?

Little fuzzy and nervous here. All help is greatly appreciated.

Thanks,

Jas

• How important is your data?

How much does it change?

If you do full backups once a night (midnight) and your system crashes at noon, can you afford to lose 12 hours of data? If it crashes at 1159PM can you afford to lose almost 24 hours of data?

TLog backups allow you to do a restore to a specific point-in-time.

-SQLBill

• Hi, thanks for your reply. Here are some answers and more info.