Recommended path for advanced training?

• I realized recently that I've become complacent as regards to training on my job as a DBA for a medium-sized company.

It also doesn't help that I'm 100% self-taught, and even though I've been doing this for the last 8 years, I KNOW I must have some bad habits that could be eradicated by proper training.

I'm looking for advice on a path to take. My inclination is to get texts on the subject and read them, as opposed to taking a class or obtaining certification. I'm primarily interested in improving my ability to architect and design large applications, along with performance efficiency and tuning.

Moving from an intermediate level to an advanced level, has anyone found the class or certification approach to be more effective than reading texts solo?

Out of the plethora of SQL texts on the market, are there any specific ones that should be recommended over others?

Thanks for your time,

JK

• I am interested to know as well

Personally I think

Certifications like 70-431, 443, 444 for MCITP: DBA

and advanced books like

Inside T-SQL series

It's a never-ending road, sadly 🙁

SQLServerNewbie MCITP: Database Administrator SQL Server 2005
  • The Microsoft classes are geared towards teaching the exam, not getting you better at strong skills.

Really you need one of a few things. A custom class from End to End Training, I'm a partner there, SQL Skills, or someone like that who will give you custom training.

Or attend some of the custom classes offered by experts. Itzik Ben-Gan does some for Solid Quality Mentors, and there are others depending on what exactly you are looking for.

To be advanced, a lot of it is self study and work. You have to practice things. I'd really recommend hitting something like SQL Pass and going to advanced sessions (or the pre-cons) or hitting events like SQL Saturday, and finding someone that challenges you with their work and practicing with it.