Referential Integrity vs. Performance

• I haven't posted in this forum for a while so please forgive me if my post question isn't in the proper format. I'm also new to SSMS and haven't figured out how to create table relationships yet (my previous job used DBArtisan). Otherwise I would have shown the create table statements. I am in the process of figuring this out, but my boss wants an answer to this question as soon as possible.  Thank you for your patience.

Scenario
    My development team is wondering about the necessity for static data/support tables as they pertain to referential integrity vs. the overhead of the join required to access the static data/support tables.

Given the following two somewhat fictitious two examples:

Scenario #1
    We have a voting application where users can vote on Issues. In this scenario a user can cast one of three possible values for his/her vote. FOR, AGAINST, ABSTAIN

Tables
    TheVote
    ID - int
    Topic - nVarChar(3000)
    UserID - Int
    TheVoteCastByTheUser - Int - This field relates to the VotingOptions table detailed below.

VotingOptions,
    ID - Int
    VotingOption - VarChar

The VotingOptions table has three rows
    Row 1 - VotingOption = FOR
    Row 2 - VotingOption = AGAINST 
    Row 3
    - VotingOption = ABSTAIN

Question:
    Some of the developers believe that we don't need the VotingOptions table and that the three VotingOptions of FOR, AGAINST, ABSTAIN can be handled in code.  They believe that the field TheVoteCastByTheUser in table TheVote should be a VarChar that the code sets to FOR, AGAINST or ABSTAIN (or a value of F, A, AB to represent those values).  They feel the overhead of joining to the VotingOptions table is not worth the referential integrity benefit. Some of us believe that although the contents of the VotingOptions table will never change, that proper design requires the use of the VotingOptions table.

Your thoughts?

Scenario #2