Replicating LARGE database over WAN

• Hi everyone,

I'm very new to SQL Server replication. I have 3 databases with total size of 150GB. I need to replicate these databases from LA to SF. What is the best way of doing this if time is of concern? Thanks in advance for your help.

• Would this scenario work?

Replicate from Server A to Server B locally. Detach the replicated database and send it to the remote office and set up replication there?

Sorry if my ideas are wacky, I'm very new to this stuff.

• What exactly do you need to do? Replication may not be the best solution if you want to keep an entire database synchronised across locations, or if you just want an occasional copy of it.

Also, does the SF copy need to be writable? If so, do those updates need to be applied back to the LA database?

• Hi Matt,

What we want to do is have a copy of our databases in SF in case there is some emergency in LA. We have a window of 1 week to bring up the databases in SF in case of an emergency. The SF databases don't need to be writable.

I am not sure, but am I mistaken in what I have studied about replication so far? I am thinking that the only way to replicate the databases to SF is by replicating the entire 150GB+ data across our WAN. Is there some other way of getting the initial snapshot to SF and then start the replication of the interim transactions once that's done?

Again, sorry for my questions sound dumb. I'm studying replication as fast as I can (as much as work would allow me...unfortunately this week is SUPER busy and this replication thing needs to be done by next week at the very latest).

Thanks again!

• If it's purely for backup purposes, you may want to look at log shipping instead - I suspect it would be a much simpler solution for you to implement. I'd recommend reading about it in BOL (http://msdn2.microsoft.com/en-us/library/ms190016.aspx) to ensure that it meets your requirements.

• Thanks Matt.