Row_Number and Union query

• Hi,

My application runs this query using a stored proc

SELECT empid1,name1,joindate from emp where empid2=3

union

select empid2,name2,joindate from emp where id1=3

Now I want to implement paging for the same using Row_Number so that I can display the results in pages.

I tried playing with Row_Number but no luck with it.Basically I am not good with SQL and I had programatically implemented paging in asp.net by looping through all records returned by the query. I want to write the query in a stored proc and return the paged results.

Can someone please help me write a query for the same.

Thanks,

Ganesh

• Ganesh

Please supply table DDL in the form of a CREATE TABLE statement, sample data in the form of INSERT statements, and the result set you expect to see. If you show us what you've tried so far with ROW_NUMBER then that'll give us a place to start.

John

• create table emp (empid1 varchar(10),empid2 varchar(10),name1 varchar(10),name2 varchar(10),joindate datetime);

insert into emp values(1,2,'Employee1','Employee2',getdate());

insert into emp values(1,3,'Employee1','Employee3',getdate());

insert into emp values(1,4,'Employee1','Employee4',getdate());

insert into emp values(2,1,'Employee2','Employee1',getdate());

insert into emp values(2,3,'Employee2','Employee3',getdate());

insert into emp values(3,1,'Employee3','Employee1',getdate());

insert into emp values(3,2,'Employee3','Employee1',getdate());

• OK, now please show us what you expect the query to return, and what you've tried so far.

John

• I dont have the queries that I typed saved....i have already posted the query that i am currently using to retrieve

the data .. i want to use paging for the same query by using row_number....

• Perhaps something like this?

SELECT * , ROW_NUMBER ...

FROM

(SELECT empid1,name1,joindate from emp where empid2=3

union

select empid2,name2,joindate from emp where id1=3) sub

Gail Shaw