Self Paced Studying - How do you do it?

• Hello!

I am interested in studying for the MCTS SQL Server 2005. The Microsoft book has just been released for this. I want to study for this from home and I would love to hear from those of you who did it on your own or are working on it now.

How many hours a week do you set aside? I'm thinking a ballpark number should be 10-15 hours, in two to three hour increments.

I know that MS exams vary in complexity and that each user learns at a different pace, but I am wondering how many months it would take of studying before you are ready to take the test.

Thanks!

• I've done it for several exams. The amout of time per week is pretty dependent on how long you have before you plan to write the exam.

For my SQL Admin exam I studied on and off for about 6 months before I write. I wouldn't recommend that. Fewer longer blocks are better than more shorter blocks. Maybe try for 2 3-4 hour stretches and see how that goes. Be careful that the studying doesn't take over your life. You will need some time to relax

What you need is a quiet place to study, somewhere you won't be interupted and you aren't surrounded by distractions. I don't recommend trying to study lounging on your bed or on the couch in front of the TV.

I find that writing notes on the material helps and gives me a set of summaries for last minute revision.

I also have that exam on my todo list. Got a link for info on the book?

Good luck with your studies. Let us know how it goes.

Gail Shaw
    Microsoft Certified Master: SQL Server, MVP, M.Sc (Comp Sci)
    SQL In The Wild: Discussions on DB performance with occasional diversions into recoverability

We walk in the dark places no others will enter
    We stand on the bridge and no one may pass