SQLServer 2005 SSIS Replication Database with customized Tables & Columns

• Hi folks,

I am a SSIS beginner and I am exploring SSIS right now for some projects.

The logic is very simple:

Copy the whole DB1's to DB2, except some tables' some columns.

So, I choose Transfer SQL Server Objects Task to replicate the whole DB with all the indexes, sp, views, which is awesome.

However, I couldn't specify which columns in the tables I could like to include and which not. So if I copy the table, then I need to copy all the columns of that table.

Then I choose dataflow to transfer data, then I could specify the columns, but however, I couldn't replicate the indexes, which is annoying.

Does any body know better solution for such problem? Thanks very much! 😀

• I'm curious what you are trying to accomplish.

Transfer objects and data-flow components have very different purposes.

If you tell us more about the problem you are trying to address we can probably answer your question better..

CEWII

• Sure.

My purpose is:

1. Replicate whole DB1 to DB2 with all the tables, views, sps, indexes, user role settings, BUT EXCEPT table1's 2nd, 3rd columns.

After that:

2. Update only DB2's table3 to DB1.

After that:

3. Setup time interval as 30mins after second action, then update whole DB1 to DB2 again.

It's kind of my regular operation process.

Please help me out with the best SSIS solutions. Thanks very much. 😀

• If all of DB2's data has been copied from DB1, what is the reason for Step 2?

How complex is the db? Have you considered BACKUP / RESTORE / ALTER TABLE as a possible method?

If you haven't even tried to resolve your issue, please don't expect the hard-working volunteers here to waste their time providing links to answers which you could easily have found yourself.

• I might clarify again, sorry for that.

1. DB1 is maintained by other group, they might update DB1 regularly, so we need to replicate their updates regularly to DB1.