Triggers

• Hi all,

I am new to sql server, How to write a trigger which stops the DML operation on a table for particular time...

Can anyone help on this......

• I haven't done this before. But you can use the REVOKE command inside your trigger to alter the privileges of a User.

But, I don't think you can do it for some period of time. The privileges would remain revoked until the next grant.

Vinu Vijayan

For better and faster solutions please check..."How to post data/code on a forum to get the best help" - Jeff Moden[/url] 😉

• One way you can disable the trigger by using following sql script

ALTER TABLE Table_Name DISABLE TRIGGER Trigger_Name

Other way programaticlly handle it by checking a condition inside the trigger statement.

• One way you can disable the trigger by using following sql script

ALTER TABLE Table_Name DISABLE TRIGGER Trigger_Name

Other way programaticlly handle it by checking a condition inside the trigger statement.

I don't think the OP wants to disable the trigger. I think he wants to build a trigger which would revoke DML Priviledges of a User for a given period of time.

Vinu Vijayan

For better and faster solutions please check..."How to post data/code on a forum to get the best help" - Jeff Moden[/url] 😉

• I think you can use an INSTEAD OF trigger for this purpose

Never had to use it myself though:-)

Kingston Dhasian

How to post data/code on a forum to get the best help - Jeff Moden
    http://www.sqlservercentral.com/articles/Best+Practices/61537/

• maheshkrishnas (5/7/2012)

Hi all,

I am new to sql server, How to write a trigger which stops the DML operation on a table for particular time...

What do you mean by "for particular time"? The following trigger will reject any DML for period from 8:00am to 12:00am for any day:

create trigger dbo.tr_MyTable on dbo.MyTable

after insert,update,delete

as

begin

if datepart(hour,getdate()) between 8 and 11

begin