2 Itanium2’s v 4 Xeons?

• I’m a BI developer and have a hardware question.

We have recently specked up some new servers for our datawarehouse and OLAP solution, we have opted to go 64bit. A consultancy suggested 4 dual core processors per box (around 3GHz Xeons) with 16gig ram. On presenting the consultants report to our hardware manager he has now kitted out the servers with 2 (1.6MHz) dual core Itanium2’s. Also, the boxes only have 2 sockets so there’s no room to expand in the future.

Without getting too caught up in what to do with the hardware manager what is the general consensus?

Generally speaking should 2 (1.6MHz 64bit) dual core Itanium2’s outperform 4 (3Ghz 64bit) dual core Xeons?

Any science or performance comparisons to demonstrate the case would be very much appreciated, mind you so would a yes or no.

• There is a very simple answer Intel created Itanium specifically for the 64bits platform back in the early 2000 so given the choice between Itanium and improved Xeon choose Itanium.  I was a volunteer for the SQL Server 64bits project which started in 2001.  Hope this helps.

Kind regards,
    Gift Peddie

• I'm not so sure. During a presentation from MS a couple of weeks ago they said that Itanium are mostly preferrable on system with 8 or more CPU's.

On a system with less CPU's the XEON oreven Opterons provide better performance because of the higher clock speed. There are also some driver and application issues with Itanium systems. For example Visual Studion and thus BI Management studio doesn't work on Itanium. Not all datasources offer Itaniuim compatible drivers.

So in your case I would prefer the Xeon to the Itanium option.

If you give me your email I can send you the original presentation.

Markus

[font="Verdana"]Markus Bohse[/font]