2000 Database Engine on Virtual server

• we're experiencing some "time out" problems btw SQL 2k and an online application, our vendors believe it's because our database engine is installed on a virtual server. i'm at loss in this regard cos i'm quite new to SQL.

Has anybody had similar (or any other problems) associated with the database engine sitting on a virtual server?

------------------------------------------------------------------------
    All it takes, is a step in the right direction, your feet will manage to find the way. I didn't say it'll be easy!!![font="Comic Sans MS"]:cool:[/font]

• It may be right or wrong.

Right:

If your virtual server does not have enough resource, your jobs may not be processed in time. As a result, you may have timeout issue.

Wrong:

Queries may be poorly written, the setting of the maximum connections is low, ...

You may also come across timeout issue.

• SQL ORACLE (3/18/2008)

It may be right or wrong.

Right:

If your virtual server does not have enough resource, your jobs may not be processed in time. As a result, you may have timeout issue.

the virtual server runs a windows 2003 SP2 OS and has ample disk and memory space, in fact it has memory in excess of the maximum windows 2003 can access.

our system engineers (inhouse) say the system's resources are at the optimum.

i noticed, it's actually processing jobs, but losing some lines of the jobs somewhere in the synchronization process, based on that i suspect it's an application issue, but there doesn't seem to be abple proof and so quite difficult to take the vendors up on it.

All it takes, is a step in the right direction, your feet will manage to find the way. I didn't say it'll be easy!!![font="Comic Sans MS"]:cool:[/font]

• Although a virtual machine may have ample resources, each component may not have enough after resource allocation. You need to check it.