80 columns by 6 million rows

• All,

I am very new to SQL server performance tuning and I was wondering what I could do to get this table performing a bit better.  I have a quad 3 GHZ box with 3GB of RAM.  My table is 80 columns x 6 million records and has 1 unique clustered index.  The size of the table will not change and only BI query tools are going to be used to hit it.  My issue is a simple summation of one of the columns takes almost 2 minutes on average.  This will not make users happy considering the data that populates this table comes from a Teradata server where the same query takes 15 seconds on average.  Can someone please provide me some tips or point me to some documentation to get this running faster?  Thanks in advance.

• I had this problem where I had to get transactions from 15 countries on a monthly basis.

My solution, pre-analysis services was to create specific summary tables that pre-aggregated the data.

For example, the transactions were by day but the users were specifically interested in transactions by region by month, or by region by week.  I simply bypassed the problem.

I would ask if all the 80 columns are actually used?

Use SQL profiler to log the SELECTs done against the database.  If some columns are rarely used then think about splitting out the tables so the less commonly used stuff is in one table and the rest is in another.

If users commonly search on a sequential range of values then try putting your clustered index on the column that holds that value instead of the default primary key.

If your data is mainly static try altering the index fill factors to a very high value or even 100%.

• Sorry, I forgot to add.  Splitting the table into more than one by columns is vertical partitioning.

If your users tend to search for last months transactions then I would consider horizontal partitioning and have your main table(s) with just the past two months data in them.