Authentication between 2 SQL Servers (reporting)

• Hi,

I've installed SQL Server on 3 x 2014 servers for a BI solution (VM environment).

Server A is a warehouse from where data is extracted (read), and Server B is a Reporting Server with SSRS configured (Server C is Integration Services and not part of this problem).

The Data Source (pointing to DW Server A) on the Reporting Server employs Windows Integrated Security (see attached) but is using the NT AUTHORITY\ANONYMOUS LOGON service account when running the report instead. I am an administrator on the ReportManager site as well as on all SQL Servers (so no need to explicitly map account to particular database). Additionally the Report Server uses the NT Service\ReportServer service account (this is standard) - this wouldn't influence any authentication occurring on Server A though.

So I'd expect Reporting Services to pick up my Windows account and authenticate on Server A to read the reporting data.

Obviously, the main reason for specifying Windows is that many users will eventually be using this platform and I'd want them to be Active Directory - mapped and then I could map the AD group accounts in SQL Server and manage security within SSRS at a granular folder level.

It's easy when the report server and source data are all on the same server but moving to multiple servers is a better solution for enterprise.

So, I've seen this issue before but can't recall if the route I took was relating to SPN or Kerberos/NTLM, if that makes sense.

Probably a simple thing that I've missed.

I've attached a couple of screenshots to show some of the setup.

Would really appreciate some guidance.

Thanks.

• DuncEduardo (8/12/2015)

Hi,

I've installed SQL Server on 3 x 2014 servers for a BI solution (VM environment).

Server A is a warehouse from where data is extracted (read), and Server B is a Reporting Server with SSRS configured (Server C is Integration Services and not part of this problem).