Bachelors degree - Who has one, or even more education?

• Good day

Recently I went from a team of one, to a team of 5, and I seem to have gone from "go to guy" to the "green guy on the block". I have been doing SQL Server for nearly 10 years. I looked around at some of my new team members (Great guys!), and one thing that seemed to have stuck out is the level of education. I have a "programming certificate" when Y2K was big...schools were just cranking out students. My coworkers have at least bachelor degree's.

Until recently, it was my opinion that real world experience was more appealing than a piece of paper that some school gave out. Now I have started to rethink that...

Am I wrong? Right? I have researched some schools, and have one that is very appealing, the price is more that I think I can take on, but, maybe I cannot afford to NOT do it as well. My company is toying with the idea of tuition reimbursement for 2009, but I may get started now...get a jump on it. Since I would not be going full time to school, this degree would take quite some time.

TIA for any info you feel like sharing!

-- Cory

• Before you even think of spending the 20 to 30 thousand dollars to get a Bachelor's degree...

Why do you feel like the "green guy"? Why do you feel like you need a degree to keep up with those that have one, especially in light of the fact that you've got 10 years of SQL under your belt? What makes you think that those with degrees are so much better than you? Do you think having a degree will help you get a job or a better paying job?

If you can come up with any practical answers to the questions above, then maybe a degree is right for you. If not, then probably not.

--Jeff Moden

RBAR is pronounced "ree-bar" and is a "Modenism" for Row-By-Agonizing-Row.
    First step towards the paradigm shift of writing Set Based code:
    ________Stop thinking about what you want to do to a ROW... think, instead, of what you want to do to a COLUMN.