Backup Database the delete just the old backup of that database

• Hi all,

I am fairly new to this. I need a way to back up a database and then delete just the older backup of that file if the backup is successful. Idera's SQL Safe does it like this, I am just not sure how to do it in SQL 2000 and 2005. I would delete all the old backups before I do the backup but what it the backup failed. Also I could delete the old backups when the entire backup has completed successfully. But both those options leave me in a delimia. If I delete them before the backup is complete and the job fails I loose all the backups. If I delete them after the job has completed and the backup does not complete successfully all the files remain. If that happens a few days in a row I would run out of drive space.

So the order for each file would be:

1. Backup

2. Check the backup

3. Delete older backup(older than 1 hour or anything)

Next file

1. Backup

2. Check the backup

3. Delete older backup(older than 1 hour or anything)

This possible through a osql script or maintenance plan?

Thank you.

• In maintenance plans, there's a "Cleanup Backup task" that can do that for you.

- Gus "GSquared", RSVP, OODA, MAP, NMVP, FAQ, SAT, SQL, DNA, RNA, UOI, IOU, AM, PM, AD, BC, BCE, USA, UN, CF, ROFL, LOL, ETC
    Property of The Thread

"Nobody knows the age of the human race, but everyone agrees it's old enough to know better." - Anon

• Thank you for the quick reply. I tried that but must be missing something. I still have double the files until the job completes. Is there a specific switch that allows the previous named (older backup file) file of the current file being backed up to be deleted before sql proceeds to the next file?

• Do you mean:

- backup db 1

- delete old backup of db 1

- backup db 2

- delete old backup of db 2