Backup Methods

• I am looking for some advice/ammunition. I started with a new company about 6 months ago and while reviewing the routines and methods here I have found that the present dba is backing up all of the database by the use of a script she found on the internet. I have about 5 years experience as a dba and have never seen this done like this before. In the past I have always used maintenance plans to run both the system and user databases. The problem is, when I suggested that we switch over to a documented and supported method I got the old "it works fine now and I don't want to change the way I do it" answer. I have used some of the basic reasoning for switching over to use maintenance plans but am wondering if anyone else has any other suggestions/arguments?

• About the only reason I've ever had to not use the maintenance plans is if you want to use differential backups. 

I suppose that if the current method provides a stable process there is little or no need to switch, since the wheel has already been reinvented...

/*****************

If most people are not willing to see the difficulty, this is mainly because, consciously or unconsciously, they assume that it will be they who will settle these questions for the others, and because they are convinced of their own capacity to do this. -Friedrich August von Hayek

*****************/

• Addition to previous reply, i have encountered few issues using Maint plans in SQL 7/2000. If the script is already is place and working fine its best to be left as it is else if something goes wrong after the changes have been done - Be ready to take the blame even though it was not a major issue based on what you have posted the previous DBA is not willing to budge/take change without enough reason

• I'm just wondering why you think the only way to run a backup is using maintenance plans? What is your DBA doing in their script that suggests it is undocumented or unsupported?