Backup/Restore nightmare

• Hello All,

I am a default SQL Server DBA and have limited knowledge of the product.  We have GIS (Geographic Information System) software that uses SQL Server as it's backend. 

Setup:  SQL Server 7.0, Database Recovery : Full, Full Backups weekly, Diff. Backups Daily, Tran Log Backups every two hours during business day.

Situation:  I need to restore to 1/8/06.  I cannot restore to a point in time as the interface won't allow me to choose any other day than today.  If I try simply to restore (by selecting these dates as a start time and "unchecking" all susequent dates) to 1/1/06 or 1/8/06 I receive an error (Microsoft SQL - DMO- ODBC SQLState: HYOOO, Location: recbase.cpp: 1375,  Expression: m_offBeginVar < m_SizeRec,  SPID: 51, ProcessID: 924)

To probably complicate things I just recently deleted my backup of old transaction logs...it had grown to 220GB (I assume because I had it set to "append" rather than overwrite) and have only one trans log back up since then.

I need big help here....PLEASE tell me all is not lost.

Thank you,

Lonnie Meinke

• Hi Lonnie,

What's the date of the full database backup immediately preceding 01/08/2006?  You have to start your restores with a full backup then restore differential backups and log backups.

Greg

Greg

• Hi Greg,

Thanks for the response.  The last full backup is one week prior or 1/1/06.  I have tried to restore this but get the same error message.  Am I possibly making an error in the restore process?  When I restore I am selecting the starting date and then "unchecking" all subsequent restore dates....is this how one would restore to a particular backup?

I even tried to create a new database and restore into it from that date with no luck.