beggining with sql server 2005

• hello every body im a beginner in sql server 2005 please tell me how i can develope my knowledge in this...:(

Regards,

Seetha

• I'd suggest books. First off, all the Inside SQL Server 2005 (or 2008) books are worth reading. Ross Mistry's book on 2008 Administration is good. Joe Sack's book on Transact-SQL Recipes is pretty handy too.

Second resource, this place. Read the questions & answers. Try answering the questions. Use the Books Online (SQL Server documentation, referred to as BOL) because most people who post here can't seem to find the BOL or look things up in it. If you learn how to use the BOL, you'll be the sighted person in the land of the blind.

Third resource, find a local users group. Most of the good ones are PASS Chapters, so hitting the SQL Pass web site (www.sqlpass.org) would be the best bet. You'll be able to watch presentations on various topics and network with others.

Finally, go back to the PASS web site again and look through the material there. There are lots of good resources to point you to other resources for learning such as Top 10 lists, community lists, articles in the SIG areas.

That ought to keep you busy.

----------------------------------------------------The credit belongs to the man who is actually in the arena, whose face is marred by dust and sweat and blood... Theodore RooseveltThe Scary DBAAuthor of: SQL Server 2017 Query Performance Tuning, 5th Edition and SQL Server Execution Plans, 3rd EditionProduct Evangelist for Red Gate Software

• I agree with Grant.

Also, get yourself a copy of Express and play about with that as well. Can't beat hands on learning!