Best way to connect an access FE to SQL BE

• Okay,

I've got an access 2007 FE connecting to a SQL 2008 BE. I seen several posts about connecting to the backend by something other than a DNS connection. So I know have several questions:

1) what is the best method to make the connections

2) I've got 20 tables in my DB. Do I need to create a single connection for the DB as a whole, or do I need to create 20 connections for each individual table.

Be gentle...I'm a full blown newb when it comes to this.

Thanks!

• I have been using this forever.

http://www.accessmvp.com/DJSteele/DSNLessLinks.html

I can't say its the best but it has worked well for me. It easy to relink your tables if you add a field to a table or make other changes server-side. You don't need to worry about deploying any DSN's.

I can't I'm well versed in the subject, since I have always used this without having to dive in too deeply.

Good luck.

• I can 2nd Chrissy321's approach as valid. I'm using something very similar. One piece of advice (is discussed also in article referenced by Chrissy321) is to locally store the tabledef info. before you start deleting connections. Other than that, this method works well for distributed front-ends. If you also put in a check to see if the user that is trying to use the application is a valid user (need some sort of table of valid users), then this is also a good way to prevent unauthorized use, as you can disconnect all linked tables and leave the app. unusable with little to no information about the data.

• Thanks for the replies and advice. I looked at the link you provided Chrissy and kind of get what's going on, but where does that code need to be placed and when should it be called?

• Create a new module and add everything from code start to code end. Save the module. I call mine modDNSLessConnection.

You'll see the module tab along with the other Access objects, tables, views, etc.