Best way to use Access as a front end

• Hi folks, I've been using Access for years but this is my first time using SQL as a back end.  Everything I read talks about pass-thru queries and attaching tables but don't these methods require all users to have a DSN on their workstation?  I've got about 200 users and don't want to touch all the desktops. 

So what I've been doing is just using an ADO connectionto hit the back end with stored procs and using GetRows and GetString to bring back the data and fill combo boxes or single record forms.  For multi-record forms I'm dumping the data into jet tables sitting on the front end.  All writable forms have a save button which will then send the insert, update etc. to the back end. 

This way I'm never attached to the SQL Server for more than a few seconds at a time and no need for DSNs.  Also if I change to ASP in the future it should be pretty easy since much of the vb can go unchanged.

Does this make sense?  Opinions Please!

Mike

• 1.  You can have your front-end database use a DSN file that is located on your network.  This avoids touching every 200+ workstations.

2.  Alternative method is creating your application using MS Access Project (ADP file extension).  This will let you use Forms, Reports, Macros, and Modules within an Access Project file.  However, your tables, views and stored procedures are connected and stored on your SQL Server.

• Our Access apps create the DSN on the user's PC when the app starts.  It's a neat enough solution, but I think the other suggestion of a DSN located on the network is cool - must try that one myself