Block Size on MSSQL on Linux

• Do I need to set my block size of drives on linux at 64k allocation size like I do on windowsOS?

• I am not an expert on this, but my understanding is that it is recommended.

Same thing in windows, it isn't that you HAVE to set it to 64k, it just gets a performance benefit.

SQL requests data in Extents.  Each extent is 8 pages long.  Each page is 8KB in size.  So an extent is 64kb.  So when SQL asks for an extent from disk, if it needs to do a random read to get those 8 pages, you may be jumping from start to end of the disk if you 8 times if you use 8K block size and more if you use smaller.

Using 64k block size means that when you ask for an extent, you are doing 1 continuous read from disk.

As for as I know, this recommendation applies to Linux as well as Windows.

The above is all just my opinion on what you should do. 
    As with all advice you find on a random internet forum - you shouldn't blindly follow it.  Always test on a test server to see if there is negative side effects before making changes to live!
    I recommend you NEVER run "random code" you found online on any system you care about UNLESS you understand and can verify the code OR you don't care if the code trashes your system.

• Thanks I guess this might be more of a Ubuntu forum question but ty for any response -

Based on MS documentation they are allocating the 64k chunk by implementing software raid

# To locate the devices (for example /dev/sdc) for RAID creation, use the lsblk command

# For Data volume, using 4 devices, in RAID 5 configuration with 8KB stripes mdadm --create --verbose /dev/md0 --level=raid5 --chunk=8K --raid-devices=4 /dev/sdc /dev/sdd /dev/sde /dev/sdf