building string in sp (as varchar) for use in select

• I'm not a programmer anymore - I was a long time ago ... I know my sql is old but I've been assigned the task of modifying a site and have to go with what I knew ....

My problem in the below code is the use of @mySqlStrOrg inside the select statement. I just want to dynamically build a static string inside the sp and then use it later in that same sp ... if that makes any sense at all ...

ALTER proc dbo.reportCreatorPage1Top10Cats

@MyDateIntervalStart smalldatetime = '',

@MyDateIntervalEnd smalldatetime = '',

@MyClientId int = null,

@MyDivision varchar(10) = '',

@MyDepartment varchar(10) = ''

as

begin

/* + + + + + + + + + + + + + + + + + + + + + + + + + + + */

/* + + + + + + + + Create Temp Table + + + + + + + + + */

CREATE TABLE #tempReportTbl1

(

rownr int,

catname varchar(50),

quan int,

totalresponseM int,

totalresponseH numeric(8,2),

avgrestimeM int,

avgrestimeH numeric(8,2)

)

/* + + + + + + + + extra query params + + + + + + + + + + + + + */

declare @mySqlStrOrg as varchar(100)

set @mySqlStrOrg = ''

if @MyDivision = "abc"

begin

if @MyDepartment = "all"

/* all departments = unrestricted */

begin

set @mySqlStrOrg = ' and divisionunit.division_id = 1 '

end

end

else IF @MyDivision = "def"

begin

if @MyDepartment = "all"

/* all departments = unrestricted */

begin

set @mySqlStrOrg = ' and divisionunit.division_id = 2 '

end

end

else IF @MyDivision = "none"

Begin

/* default value from iis */

/* we are doing site only */

set @mySqlStrOrg = ' '

end

else IF @MyDepartment = "none"

Begin

/* default value from iis */

/* we are doing site only */

set @mySqlStrOrg = ' '

end

else

begin

set @mySqlStrOrg = ' and departmentunit.departmentunit_id = @MyDepartment '

end

/* + + + + + + + + Fill table + + + + + + + + + + + + + */

/* + + + + + + Closed inquiries only + + + + + + + + + */

insert into #tempReportTbl1(catname, quan, totalresponseM, totalresponseH)