Can this procedure be optimized?

• Hi all,

I'm rewriting legacy code (DataFlex) as stored procedures for SQL Server. I just wrote the following procedure in a straight forward fashion, which requires several updates to the same table. My primary goal is speed of execution, not elegance. Can this be optimized? If so, can you offer some tips on how to rewrite it? I'm still new to T-SQL, and haven't yet figured out how to control a 'SET' statement with an IF or CASE.

Any suggestions are welcome.

==============================================

CREATE PROCEDURE rp_SOD_Update_Media

AS

-- ~~~~ Calculate & Store avg_sale ~~~~~~~~~~~~~

UPDATE MASMEDIA

SET    avg_sale = (ytd_sales / num_orders)      

WHERE  inactive = 'N'

AND    num_orders > 0

AND    (ytd_sales / num_orders) < 10000 ;

--  --  --  --  --  --  -- --  --  --  --  --  -

UPDATE MASMEDIA

SET    avg_sale = 9999.99

WHERE  inactive = 'N'

AND    num_orders > 0

AND    (ytd_sales / num_orders) >= 10000 ;

-- ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

-- ~~~~ Calculate & Store avg_profit ~~~~~~~~~~~

UPDATE MASMEDIA

SET    avg_profit = (ytd_profit / num_orders)

WHERE  inactive = 'N'

AND    num_orders > 0

AND    (ytd_profit / num_orders) < 10000 ;

UPDATE MASMEDIA

SET    avg_profit = 9999.99

WHERE  inactive = 'N'

AND    num_orders > 0

AND    (ytd_profit / num_orders) >= 10000 ;

-- ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

-- ~~~~ Calculate & Store percent_sales ~~~~~~~~

UPDATE MASMEDIA

SET percent_sales = ((num_orders / qty_mailed) * 100)

WHERE inactive = 'N'

AND media_type = 'P'

AND qty_mailed != 0 --QUESTION: Possible qty_mailed != 0 & still need calc percent_sales?

AND num_orders != qty_mailed

AND ((num_orders / qty_mailed) * 100) < 10000 ;

UPDATE MASMEDIA

SET percent_sales = 9999.99

WHERE inactive = 'N'

AND media_type = 'P'

AND qty_mailed != 0

AND num_orders != qty_mailed

AND (num_orders / qty_mailed) >= 10000 ;

-- ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~