Can't see datbase in Enterprise manager

• changed my password today and now I can no longer see any of the servers I had registered in Enterprise Manager. Other then changing back my password back, does anyone have a suggestion?

Stacey W. A. Gregerson

Stacey W. A. Gregerson

• Odd. Can you run through the Server Registration wizard again? That would be the only thing I could suggest trying.

Still, very odd.

David

David

@SQLTentmaker

“He is no fool who gives what he cannot keep to gain that which he cannot lose” - Jim Elliot

• I've never heard of a change of password having such an effect. Your Windows account didn't change at all did it? Eg. Account deleted and then added back in with the same name? Or maybe account moved to another domain?

Cheers,

- Mark

Cheers,
    - Mark

• No my account did not change. I am an Admin on my PC. I can go into Rededt32 and see the servers listed in the keys in several locations. This is just strange.

Stacey W. A. Gregerson

Stacey W. A. Gregerson

• Are the keys stored under HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\....\Registered Servers X, or under HKEY_CURRENT_USER\SOFTWARE\....\Registered Servers X?

If the former then your EM options (Tools/Options) should have "Read/Store user independent" unchecked. If the latter then it should be checked.

Or maybe even you have "Read from remote" selected?

Cheers,

- Mark

Cheers,
    - Mark

• If you are using windows authentication the background server processes on your machine (assume you have a server instance on your machine) will probably have been set up with your login and password.

If you have already changed your password (logged off and back on), these services will fail to start, so look in control panel/services and double click the MSSQLSERVER service and change the passwords to your new password.

You will also find a SQLSERVERAGENT entry that requires changing.

If you have not yet changed your password you can change these settings in Enterprise Manager.