Certifications.

• I've worked with SQL Sever from SS 2000 to 2008. But, I've never been formally trained. Any suggestions on training and a certification plan? Do I get training classes first? Or, do I just study up for the certification and hope to pass the tests? And, if it is training, any suggestions as to who is worth their salt?

Thanks.

• Please refer below link

URL : http://www.microsoft.com/learning/en/us/certification/cert-overview.aspx

Hands-on in technology and product documentation is sufficient to take up certification.Also Microsoft provides lot of books and tutorials as well.

All the best.

• Hi SQL DBA

I am also working from sql 2000 version... i have around 5+ years experience in SQL Server DBA and around 2+ years exp in DB2 DBA.

According my experience, Self learning is the best option to become exceptional DBA

Best source of Learning

1) Books online

2) SQL Server Central forum , articles, books

3) SQL Server Performance

4) SQL CAT

5) SQL PASS webcasts

6) Microsoft Books for MCTC, MCITP

7) MVP are having their own blogs where they are sharing their experience and providing solution

So i recommendatation , first list out the topic which u feel like u need more knowledge, browse in the internet in above mentioned source and explore the diffrenct information available for the particular technical topic, and after learning ,try to implement the same in TEST server

Once u gain confidence, provide the recommendation to customer to impletement the same in your environment based on requirement.

All the best to you all

Happy learning.

Regards

Kokila K

• Self-study has always worked best for me as I tend to forget class-taught items a week after the class unless I actually practice them.

Getting books and working through the exercises also works.

The question is, do you actually need formal training / certification? If you're able to get jobs without it, and raises don't depend on it, why are you worrying?