Clustering

• Hi Experts,

I want to implement clustering for one of our client and i have never done that before.Can you provide some tips,white papers and some good links that helps .Am using SQL Server 2005 standard Edition.

Thanks in Advance

• Ratheesh.K.Nair (9/15/2008)

Hi Experts,

I want to implement clustering for one of our client and i have never done that before.Can you provide some tips,white papers and some good links that helps .Am using SQL Server 2005 standard Edition.

Thanks in Advance

Hi,

You should have a look at SQL Server 2005 Books On-Line, which has a great section covering clustering.

Also, here's a good link to get you started: http://www.microsoft.com/downloads/details.aspx?FamilyID=818234dc-a17b-4f09-b282-c6830fead499&displaylang=en

Thanks,

Phillip Cox

• might i suggest if you have access to a virtualisation technology have a go at clustering on a couple of test servers before implementing. Virtual server Enterprise 2005 will happily support a 2 node cluster

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

"Ya can't make an omelette without breaking just a few eggs" 😉

• I found these useful...

Building a cluster in Windows 2003

Installing SQL 2005 on a cluster

• Your client is likely to look to your organisation when there are problems with the cluster setup, particularly during the warranty period of the sale. They will also want to practice failover and failback, etc.

Unless you want to answer "Ermmm" and "don't know" to these questions, you need to have someone in your organisation who has had hands-on experience of clustering, and can advise on best practice. If you have no-one, then hire a contractor with suitable experience, or make time for someone in your organisation to learn the skills.