Clustering.

• Hi Everyone,

Firstly, I am not a DBA by training, but have become one as a result of need. (I am actually a web application developer that inherited the Server and SQL server instance - so while I can create just about anything in a query and have a "reasonable" handle of database design - when it comes to administering the database - I am very "green"

The group I work for in the university currently has a 2000 (enterprise) installation and we are upgrading to 2005.

I have been asked to investigate such things as clustering and replication.

The management's understanding of these two seem to be a little different to mine and this ultimately leads to my questions:

I thought clustering was to increase performance and "failover / duplication" was a "handy side-effect" of clustering. I also thought that replication as a stand-alone requirement was completely different to clustering and merely meant that there was more than one copy of the database(s) to enable a timely recovery from disaster (ie change the dns and you're back online)

So, ultimately I am hoping that someone will be able to tell me if my "guesses" about the above are correct or not and perhaps also point me in the direction of a "plain english" article that might help, not only me but the management here to understand the technologies and what would be required to implement them.

Thanks in adnvance for any help you might be able offer.

Gavin Baumanis

Smith and Wesson. The original point and click device.

• Clustering, as far as SQL Server is concerned, is hardware fail over only.  The data is not duplicated and it doesn't help with performance. It's not load balancing. Basically, two physical servers are connected to the same disk space, probably on a SAN.  If one physical server goes down,the resources, including SQL Server and the disk, are failed over to the other physical box.