Column transformation

• I'm new to DTS and am trying to export some table information to an Excel spreadsheet.  While I have it working ok, I have an issue where one of the columns I'm exporting only needs to exist for one specific customer.  I was trying to write a column transformation checking the value of a global variable for my customer value.  Move the column if it matches

else no column transformation at all.  How do

you write the "no transformation at all"?

Thanks for your help!

• write an activex script like

if customer1 then

dtsdestination("col1")=dtssource("col1")

This will only be executed if the global variable matches that customer. There is no need to specify no transformation condition.

• Thank you for the reply.  I tried this and it doesn't like that the column doesn't exist in the destination file.  For one customer the column will exist and all others it will not.  I should probably just make a separate DTS package for the special customer?

• can you post your code and the error that you are getting?

• Here is the transformation code:

'**********************************************************************

'  Visual Basic Transformation Script

'************************************************************************

'  Copy each source column to the destination column

Function Main()

if DTSGlobalvariables("Customerid").value = "3245" then

DTSDestination("note                                                            ") = DTSSource("note")

end if

Main = DTSTransformStat_OK

End Function

Here is the error: