Combining duplicate records

• Hi,

I have a table (actually a few) that was corrupted during a merge. There are two columns (ref_no and item_no) that make each record unique but I now have three records (sometimes only two). To combine the the records into one, I need to get the sum of three separate amount columns and put each sum into the combined record's amount columns.

Rec1: ref_no, item_no, ee_amt_1, er_amt_1, retained_1

Rec2: ref_no, item_no, ee_amt_2, er_amt_2, retained_2

Rec3: ref_no, item_no, ee_amt_3, er_amt_3, retained_3

Combined Rec: ref_no,

item_no,

sum(ee_amt_1 + ee_amt_2 + ee_amt_3) as ee_amt,

sum(er_amt_1 + er_amt_2 + er_amt_3) as er_amt,

sum(retained_1 + retained_2 + retained_3) as retained

This doesn't look to complicated from a programming perspective but I am new to SQL programming and not used to looking at and manipulating data based on result sets. What would be the best way to solve this problem?

Thank you.

Warm regards,

• Just trying to make sure...

1. Are the 2/3 detail rows in a different table than the "combined" table?

2. If so, are there rows already in the "combined" table for each ref_no and item_no pair that can occur in the detail table?

3. Does the "combined" table have any rows in it or are we trying to regenerate the combined table altogether?

--Jeff Moden

RBAR is pronounced "ree-bar" and is a "Modenism" for Row-By-Agonizing-Row.
    First step towards the paradigm shift of writing Set Based code:
    ________Stop thinking about what you want to do to a ROW... think, instead, of what you want to do to a COLUMN.
    "Change is inevitable... change for the better is not".

Helpful Links:
    How to post code problems
    How to Post Performance Problems
    Create a Tally Function (fnTally)
    Intro to Tally Tables and Functions

• to follow on to Jeff's questions: