Connecting to SQL 7 DB using 2000 Enterprise Mgr

• I donโ€™t have any first-hand experience with backward compatibility between SQL Server 2000 Enterprise Manager and a SQL Server 7 database. Does anyone know if connecting to and modifying a SQL Server 7 Database (adding new fields, tables, views) using Enterprise Mgr 2000 will cause any ill effects on the database. I cannot convert the database because other developers are still on version 7 and I would prefer not to monkey around with multiple instances. I'm just a developer and will not be administering the database, only enhancing it's content. Thanks for your help in advance...

• I haven't had any problems and I've been running 3 7.0 SQL Servers from 2000 EM for a year.

Michelle

• One thing you need to be careful about is DTS packages. If you have the 2000 client you can build and execute packages just fine as long as you run them from a 2000 client. But if you try to execute a 2000 saved package with 7.0 it will not work. If I'm managing any DTS packages save on a SQL 7.0 machine, I try to always change and save them using a 7.0 client. Because 7.0 packages can run with a 2000 client, or a 7.0 client.

Possibly some 7.0 SP fixed this issue, but I'm not sure.

Of course if you should happen to edit a 7.0 package in 2000 and save it, and then you find 7.0 will not allow you to read or execute package, you can always try to open the older 7.0 version, and then save them over the top of the 2000 to fix you version issue.

Gregory Larsen, DBA

If you looking for SQL Server Examples check out my website at http://www.geocities.com/sqlserverexamples

Gregory A. Larsen, MVP

• Issues do exist but not with working with tables and such. The only real issues I have run into are these.