Copying databases from one server to another.

• Hello All,

I am a SQL server newbie. Please explain me how to copy database from one server (SQL 2000/Win2K) to another (SQL 2000/Win2k3).

I've read up on the copy database wizard and backup/restore but havent got a clear idea. When I tired using Copy Database Wizard...it gave me the 'Failed to create the OMWWIZE share'.  I figured it to be a permissions issue. I dont know how to get that fixed. My source server has system account as the start up account and the destination server has my windows account (and I am an administrator on that machine).

I dont know how to do the backup/restore method. I did try something like this: created a backup of a database in the source server and copied that back up file to the destination server and used the restore option in the Enterprise Manager but it bombed becoz of the default path conflict and directed me to use the WITH MOVE option. So then I used the query analyzer to do the restore and this is what I ran unsuccessfuly:

RESTORE Database FuseTalk from disk = 'C:\Program Files\Microsoft SQL Server\MSSQL\BACKUP\FTBKUP.bak'

With Recovery, move 'FuseTalk.mdf' to 'C:\Program Files\Microsoft SQL Server\MSSQL\data\FuseTalk.mdf',

move 'FuseTalk.ldf' to 'C:\Program Files\Microsoft SQL Server\MSSQL\data\FuseTalk.ldf'

Please let me know, step-by-step (newbie remember?) how to copy databases from one server to another.

Thanks a bunch.

Ram.

Thanks,

Ram Ganesan

• This is a nasty error whoch appear when you have permission issues - you need SQL account to be an admin account on both servers. Make a search in MS website - they have an article about this.

The easiest is to use Copy database wizard after you fix the permissions, but then you will not have jobs, users, etc. copied for you. You need to to recreate them manually.

You could also use the backup and restore wizard in EM.