Copying databases from one server to another.

• Hello All,

I am a SQL server newbie. Please explain me how to copy database from one server (SQL 2000/Win2K) to another (SQL 2000/Win2k3).

I've read up on the copy database wizard and backup/restore but havent got a clear idea. When I tired using Copy Database Wizard...it gave me the 'Failed to create the OMWWIZE share'.  I figured it to be a permissions issue. I dont know how to get that fixed. My source server has system account as the start up account and the destination server has my windows account (and I am an administrator on that machine).

I dont know how to do the backup/restore method. I did try something like this: created a backup of a database in the source server and copied that back up file to the destination server and used the restore option in the Enterprise Manager but it bombed becoz of the default path conflict and directed me to use the WITH MOVE option. So then I used the query analyzer to do the restore and this is what I ran unsuccessfuly:

RESTORE Database FuseTalk from disk = 'C:\Program Files\Microsoft SQL Server\MSSQL\BACKUP\FTBKUP.bak'

With Recovery, move 'FuseTalk.mdf' to 'C:\Program Files\Microsoft SQL Server\MSSQL\data\FuseTalk.mdf',

move 'FuseTalk.ldf' to 'C:\Program Files\Microsoft SQL Server\MSSQL\data\FuseTalk.ldf'

Please let me know, step-by-step (newbie remember?) how to copy databases from one server to another.

Thanks a bunch.

Ram.

Thanks,

Ram Ganesan

• What error did you receive when you attempted to run the restore with move?  The syntax looks ok.

Steve

• The MOVE clause needs to refer to the logical filename, not the physical file name.  If you don't know what the logical filename is you can execute sp_helpdb 'FuseTalk' on the source server and it will display them for you.  They are typically something like 'FuseTalk_Data' and 'FuseTalk_Log'

/*****************