Counter

• Hi all,

I am new to the SQL Server (2000) world after working with Oracle for a while. My problem is that I'm missing the Sequence object dearly.

I need to run a SQL statement from within a SP that populates a table where one column is a sequence number named SEQ_NUM. I'm not able to change the layout of the table as it is defined by the package we're implementing (Siebel) so an Ident column is out of the question.

My idea was to have a separate table containing just one column and one row with a numeric value. Then to have a UDF which I would call from the SQL statement populating the Siebel table, which would give me the desired sequence number. The data type of the SEQ_NUM column is Number so that's what I'm limited to.

I can't use a Procedure as this can't be called from a SQL statement, (I'm running a INSERT INTO TABLE SELECT... statement) so it has to be a UDF.

Am I going about this problem all wrong? Anybody out there with a clever idea? I've looked through a number of sites for clues as to how this can be done, but nothing has worked so far.

All help is greatly appreciated.

Thanks in advance.

David

• I'm a little confused as to exactly what you want to do. Could you provide a small illustrating example, and also explain any rules regarding this sequence number?

/Kenneth

• >My idea was to have a separate table containing just one column and one row with a numeric value<

No bad idea, but what is your sequence based on?

_/_/_/ paramind _/_/_/

• Thanks for the replies.

Here's a shot at trying to explain in furhter detail. If we disregard the rest of the stuff I'm trying to do here's what I want from the UDF.

1. It should return a numeric value when called from the SELECT part of a INSERT INTO... SELECT statement. Something like:

INSERT INTO t_table_1 (A, B) (SELECT fn_seq_num(), col_1 FROM t_table_2)

would create a number of rows in table t_table_1 with the following result

A    B

1    XYZ

2    ABC