CPU and Memory issues

• I am a DBA  trying to get to the bottom of some instances when we have hit high CPU for a sustained period impacting performance.

On our spotlight monitoring tool we use, when we hit 100 CPU for a sustained time I see that the procedure cache has dropped significantly from 5GB down to MBs, this usually goes down over a period of a hour or two beforehand although sometimes has been quicker.  The Proc cache of course being where being where reusable execution plans are stored.

I beleive that if plans are not in the cache to be reused they have to be recompiled which takes a great degree of CPU to do.  I also run sp_blitzcache to see what plans are left and often it comes up saying that some plans have issues with compilation timeouts, which generally mean a bad plan has been generated.

I also notice on the memory drilldown in Spotlight that it shows big spike for memory areas.  It is always on the Sort, Hash, Index counter which is memory used for each of these operations in SQL Server and I’m assuming if there is not enough memory it takes it from the proc cache. Whenever the proc cache drops I see significant spikes here, sometimes the spikes up to 30GB used in an action of somekind.

The developers say that the queries that are running at these times always for the most part seem to be standard queries such as.

(@param0 int,@param1 bit,@param10 int,@param11 int,@param12 int,@param13 int,@param14 int,@param15 int,@param16 int,@param17 int,@param18 int,@param19 int,@param2 bit,@param20 int,@param21 int,@param22 int,@param23 int,@param24 int,@param25 int,@param26 int,@param27 int,@param28 int,@param29 int,@param3 bigint,@param30 int,@param31 int,@param32 int,@param33 int,@param34 int,@param35 int,@param36 int,@param37 int,@param38 int,@param39 int,@param4 int,@param40 int,@param41 int,@param42 int,@param43 int,@param44 int,@param45 int,@param5 int,@param6 int,@param7 int,@param8 int,@param9 int)WITH

data AS (

SELECT