Create a Job to run CHECKPOINT

• Hi all,

As I am new to SQL DBA Administration, Kindly provide the information, how I go forward to create a job to run the CHECKPOINT to write all the dirty buffers to disk.

Thanks in Advance.

Regards

Kumar

• you just execute a "CHECKPOINT" command. But these execute every minute or so, so I'm not sure you need to. Is there something you are concerned about?

• Hi Steve,

Thank you for your response

We have a production server, SQL Server 2000 with SP4, in which the maintaince activities was not running before. Due to the performance issue, I started implemented the Maintenance activities like optimization, integrity check, checkDB, reindexing. while create the job, one of our client relation person, informed me to create a job to perform the Checkpoint and then to run the DBCC CLEARPROCCACHE & DBCC DROPCLEANBUFFERS.  That's Y I need to some help with SQL Guys to perform this task.

I just ran the CHECKPOINT in the Query Analyzer, i just go the resutl "The command(s) completed successfully". I also just created the a job and ran it, I thought of need to know how this checkpoint works and what exactly it does, so outputed the text file and I dont see any information other than the job completed sucessfully.

Can you please let me know, how I could go in depth and see what exactly it performs and what is the usage of the this.

Thanks in advance.

Best Regards

• Checkpoint will only return the 'command completed successfully' There's no more details than that.

You really don't want to run CLEARPROCCACHE & DBCC DROPCLEANBUFFERS on a production server, especially not on a regular basis. What you're forcing with that is for every proc to be recompiled next time it runs and every single piece of data to be cleared from memory and fetched again from the disk.

Run on a prod server, they're very likely to cause a performance problem.

I'd question the person who told you to do that to find out the easoning behind ttheir request.