Create new Datatbase from bak file

• Hello,

i am new in server central and this my first post - i am hopefull this is the right place to post my question.

I need to create a new db from a backup file of an allready existing database (vehicledb) on this server.

So i created a new database with name "vehicledb2"

But when i try this, the backup says that this file is used

The backup set holds a backup of a database other than the existing 'Vehicles2' database.

Restore of database 'Vehicledb' failed.

What is the problem, how can i work around this?

Microsoft SQL Server Management Studio 11.0.2100.60

Microsoft Analysis Services Client Tools 11.0.2218.0

Microsoft Data Access Components (MDAC) 6.1.7601.17514

Microsoft MSXML 3.0 4.0 6.0

Microsoft Internet Explorer 9.11.9600.17843

Microsoft .NET Framework 4.0.30319.34209

Operating System 6.1.7601

• Welcome to the forums! You're trying to restore the new database with the same file names as the existing one, which obviously isn't allowed. Use the WITH MOVE clause in the RESTORE statement to choose new names and/or locations for the files.

John

• if you go to the files tab on the restore GUI you will be able to rename the file there under the restore as heading

• Hello, thanks for the quick reply,

Is it the file tab only which need to edit - okay,

Is it okay if i safe the 2 files with a new (different) name in the same folder?

• Al.Pacca (7/15/2015)

Hello, thanks for the quick reply,

Is it the file tab only which need to edit - okay,

Is it okay if i safe the 2 files with a new (different) name in the same folder?

Yes to both questions.

See if this script helps. You will need to modify it for your needs.

USE [master]

RESTORE DATABASE [Junk2] FROM DISK = N'C:\Program Files\Microsoft SQL Server\MSSQL12.MSSQLSERVER\MSSQL\Backup\Junk.bak'

WITH FILE = 1,

MOVE N'Junk' TO N'C:\Program Files\Microsoft SQL Server\MSSQL12.MSSQLSERVER\MSSQL\DATA\Junk2.mdf',