Creating a unique integer identifier

• I am using insert into by selecting from another table. I need to run this operation multiple times and provide a column containing a sequential number. I cannot use an identity column. So my first batch might be 1 - 100, the next batch 101 - 200, and so on. This might seem pretty basic but I am new to all of this.

• Why can you not use an identity?

Also, does the number need to be generated in the select?

Steve Jones

sjones@sqlservercentral.com

http://qa.sqlservercentral.com/columnists/sjones

http://www.dkranch.net

• We cannot use identity because the table we are using is also processed by some program content that we have and the program content assigns the sequence number programmatically. I am not sure what you mean by does the number need to be generated in a select. Hmmm, I guess it does not have to be and could be assigned after the records were inserted if that is what you mean.

• hi grasch

I think Steve asked if the value of the new identity column is generated in the select part of the insert into construct like this

insert into NewTable NewSeq, ColA
    select OldSeq, A1 from OldTable

where OldSeq is the column from which the sequence number to be inserted in the NewSwq column is based.

I am not sure what's the order in which SQL Server retrieves the records from the source table in an insert into...select...from construct. If we cannot determine the order, how are we suppose to know which record is inserted when? If I were to implement this, I would use static cursor. Thru this, you can track which record is being inserted to the new table and know the correct sequence number.

Edited by - bani on 03/07/2003 9:20:05 PM

"The way to get things done is not to mind who gets the credit for doing them." - Benjamin Howett

• Grasch can you please walk us thru the logic and what the data layout will look like so we can get a better idea of your vision.