CRM 3.0 Physical Model

• I'm just getting started with Reporting Services.  My company just began using CRM 3.0 a month ago.  I found Visio files of the database Logical model on Microsoft.com but I'd really like to see the physical model -- an actual layout of the tables,views and relationships.   I have access to the database here but the diagramming available in Management Studio isn't helping much -- hard to decipher the cobweb of relationshps.

I did find a view "Incident" which seems to hold most of the fields I'd be interested in for my first report, but I need to add the queue each ticket belongs to.

thanks for any guidance.

Randy

• Randy -

A lot of the answer depends on the amount of customization that has been done to your CRM instance - for good or bad, CRM is highly customizable and things like incidents, even customers, may have been modified from their default locations and behaviors.  You'll need to get a current data model from the folks who installed and/or customized your CRM instance before you'll be able to get too far. 

Joe

• When writing reports against Dynamics CRM you should always use the Filtered Views.  I would download the CRM 3.0 SDK.  It has a section in it called "Report Writers Guide" which points SSRS developers in the right direction.  All the Filtered Views handle record security and are created and updated by the application.

• Thanks Ben, I'll check out the SDK.  I did see those filtered views in our database.  Obviously with a database this complicated, doing a select * on every table and view to see what it's contents look like isn't very practical.

Randy

When writing reports against Dynamics CRM you should always use the Filtered Views.  I would download the CRM 3.0 SDK.  It has a section in it called "Report Writers Guide" which points SSRS developers in the right direction.  All the Filtered Views handle record security and are created and updated by the application.