Crystal Reports XI and SQL Server 2k

• Hello

Asked recently to examine a few custom Crystal reports which were performing rather poorly, I found two common reasons. One of them was a query command containing 72 correlated subqueries which took about 25 minutes to run - changing to a join cut this to about ten seconds. Another report returned 4.4 million rows to Crystal for filtering and processing. So the two main reasons for poor performance are poorly written queries, and absence of selection at the server side. I fixed these two reports using stored procs with parameters.

The problem is, I'm no Crystal expert, there are other reports with the same or similar problems, and my learning curve exceeds the client timeframe. I'm looking for a resource which will help, either a book or a forum. Crystal XI & SQL Server2k. Lots of examples of parameter usage. Any ideas?

Cheers

ChrisM

“Write the query the simplest way. If through testing it becomes clear that the performance is inadequate, consider alternative query forms.” - Gail Shaw

For fast, accurate and documented assistance in answering your questions, please read this article.
    Understanding and using APPLY, (I) and (II) Paul White
    Hidden RBAR: Triangular Joins / The "Numbers" or "Tally" Table: What it is and how it replaces a loop Jeff Moden

• Hi Chris,

I have been working here with Crystal 10 mostly so far, upgrade is next year, with SQL 2K and after a lot of frustrations, I am now using Crystal only for the presentation part of the report. Crystal is great for that but rather poor on performance when you have multiple tables. What I do now is to make sure I have all the data prepared and ready for Crystal, so I transfered to joins, data manipulation back to the DB layer, using functions, stored procs or views.

Stored procs parameters creates your parameters in Crystal so if you know SQL, better off do your stuff in SQL and then, use Crystal to display it.