CTE Help - I Think I'm Close

• Hello,

I am not new to hierarchical data but I am new to CTE's and I think I am close if someone could just explain what I'm missing. Every tutorial out there shows how to write the CTE using one table but I'm trying to do a little more of a real world sample as follows:

Top Level Table in Sandbox Database([Sandbox].[dbo].[CoreBizProcesses])

BizProcessID BizProcessName BizProcessDesc

1001001 Main Process 1 NULL

1001002 Main Process 2 NULL

1001003 Main Process 3 NULL

1001004 Main Process 4 NULL

1001005 Main Process 5 NULL

1st Level Table In Sandbox Database ([Sandbox].[dbo].[1stLevelBizProcess])

BizProcessID 1stBizProcID 1stBizProcName 1stBizProcDesc 1stBizProcUrl

1001004 1001006 Website Space Filler N/A

1001003 1001007 Servicing Space Filler N/A

2nd Level Table in Sandbox ([Sandbox].[dbo].[2ndLevelBizProcess])

1stBizProcID 2ndBizProcID 2ndBizProcName 2ndBizProcDesc 2ndBizProcUrl

1001006 1001001 Chat Lenders ...Chat Lend... maint_chatlenders.aspx

1001007 1001002 Collections Overdue Collect. N/A

1001006 1001003 L Stat... L Stat & Desc N/A

1001006 1001004 IVR IVR Stuff N/A

1001007 1001005 Claims Claims Stuff ClaimsUrl

Now my CTE looks like this:

USE Sandbox

GO

WITH vw_FirstLevelBiz([BizProcessID], [BizProcessName], [BizProcessDesc], [1stBizProcID], [1stBizProcName], [1stBizProcDesc], [1stBizProcUrl])

AS

(

--Anchor query returning the top levels of the heirarchy

SELECT TopLvl.BizProcessID, TopLvl.BizProcessName, TopLvl.BizProcessName,

First.[1stBizProcID], First.[1stBizProcName], First.[1stBizProcDesc], First.[1stBizProcUrl]

FROM Sandbox.dbo.CoreBizProcesses AS TopLvl

INNER JOIN Sandbox.dbo.[1stLevelBizProcess] AS First

ON TopLvl.BizProcessID = First.BizProcessID

)

SELECT *

FROM vw_FirstLevelBiz;

Which Returns (Abbreviated column headers for space):

BizProcID BizProcName BizProcDesc 1BizProcID 1BizProcName 1BizProcDesc 1BizProcUrl

1001004 Main Proc4 Main Proc4 1001006 Website Space Filler N/A