Cubes vs Stars

• I'm still learning on the BI/Datawarehousing front and I had a co-worker who informed me that Cubes and Stars are the same thing.  Now I'm getting into reading about BI and I'm reading that they are two different things.

First, what exactly is a cube?  I know what a star / snowflake is. 

Second question, which do you prefer to use in your solution and why?  What benefits does a cube give over a star or vice versa?

Thank you in advance for your comments and assistance.

Brandie Tarvin, MCITP Database AdministratorLiveJournal Blog: http://brandietarvin.livejournal.com/[/url]On LinkedIn!, Google+, and Twitter.Freelance Writer: ShadowrunLatchkeys: Nevermore, Latchkeys: The Bootleg War, and Latchkeys: Roscoes in the Night are now available on Nook and Kindle.

• Hi Brandie,

A Star Schema and a Snowflake Schema are design structures, kind of like an ER diagram for a relational model.

A cube is an OLAP engine structure, which actually holds the data, similar to a table (in a way) in a relational database.

So, "Star" and "Cube" are not the same thing, but they all indeed relate to the same subject...

Also, I'm sure you now understand that the second question is a bit irrelevant, as you don't have (well, you can't) choose between using a "Star" and using a "Cube" as they are not really the same thing at all.

I would suggest you grab a good basic book on data warehousing/OLAP/Analysis Services which may assist you at this stage.

HTH,

Yaniv

• Here's a great site for Data Warehousing: http://www.tdan.com/

RegardsRudy KomacsarSenior Database Administrator"Ave Caesar! - Morituri te salutamus."

• The star schema (sometimes referenced as star join schema) is the simplest data warehouse schema,

consisting of a single "fact table" with a compound primary key, with one segment for each "dimension"

and with additional columns of additive, numeric facts.

An OLAP cube is a specially designed database that is optimized for reporting.