Data Change Tracing

• Hello,

I am a very db knowledgeable developer but not a db developer so forgive me for the simple question. Our web app is changing data and we can't seem to identify why.

This only happens to a few people and we have not yet figured out how to reproduce in test...thus finding and fixing is very difficult.

Quickly what happens is the user logs in and changes some features. In the database we change these values to 0 or 1 in a bit field. The user logs off, logs back in and as is well. Indeed it seems that it only happens after a long period of time. So the user will stay logged out for 4 hours, log back in and the settings have changed???

We are unsure if this happens on it's own or during login but only after a "cooling off period". So I was looking for something that I could configure to watch table X and better yet watch rows 1-5 in table X. From there I would then be able to identify a job, or a stored procedure etc. to start figuring this out.

Thank You

JB

• If you have access to BOL (Books On Line - the SQL server help file) you may want to investigate the subject "SQL Server Audit Action Groups and Actions ". It seems to be an applicable method of tracing those changes you have described.

If everything seems to be going well, you have obviously overlooked something.

Ron

Please help us, help you -before posting a question please read[/url]
    Before posting a performance problem please read[/url]

• BOL??? Who needs that when you have Google? Thank You for pointing me in the right direction. Well so much for that idea. Only available SQL 2008 and this is 2005.

JB

• Hi,

You could setup a trigger on the table to get details of when the row was updated and store the details in an audit table

There are many different approaches to doing this, but if you need some help, let me know and i'll post some code which is easy to implement.