Data Cleansing

• Garbage in, garbage out. No truer words spoken by the DBA. I love seeing articles like this, no, not those picking on the various credit database companies. Articles that look at data quality and how technology isn't at fault in many cases.

As a DBA, I've been trusted with guarding the data for many companies. I've been in charge of making sure it's available, protected, and intact. That what data is in the database doesn't get corrupt or inappropriately changed.

However, I can only work with what I'm given. If data entry people put in bad data, what can we do? If lists we load are bad, is it our fault? Can't the ETL processes weed this out?

The answer is somewhat. Those of us that are good have learned to protect ourselves without backout plans to remove inappropriate data, with routines that clean and transform data into standard formats and even values in cases, and more. However we are still often at the mercy of the providers of data, the editors.

I can prevent someone from deleting all rows in a table (except for myself, of course), but I can't always stop Joe in accounting from entering $350,000 instead of $3500. Or vice versa. At some point I have to trust and allow that users will work with the data and could make mistakes. The DBA, the most visible guy that's working with the data, isn't always at fault.

Maybe I should keep this URL in the DR handbook to show the CIO the next time I have a "Whoops"?

Steve Jones

• You can lead a user to data, but you cannot make them think.

Original author: https://github.com/SQL-FineBuild/Common/wiki/ 1-click install and best practice configuration of SQL Server 2019, 2017 2016, 2014, 2012, 2008 R2, 2008 and 2005.

When I give food to the poor they call me a saint. When I ask why they are poor they call me a communist - Archbishop Hélder Câmara

• Ed I love your quote and remember its not possible to under estimate the the IQ of a typical user

Mike 

• Hello Steve,