db and t-log size and growth--help!

• i've just started tracking my db and log file sizes and noticed (in taskpad view, in the allocated space section) that the msdb dbs on both servers (1 production, 1 development)  have no space left, and the production model db has no space either. 

several other dbs on our production server have disproportionately allocated t-log spaces (for example, one db has 15495 MB used, 11083MB free but its t-log has 414MB used and 36829MB free). 

questions: if there is a big chunk of unused space in the space allocated t-log, should i shrink the file? would that bring the allocated size down or the actual space being used?    is that a normal proportion or are our db t-log allocated space sizes (or maximum size) simply set too high?  and what to do about growing the msdb or model db? (i'm new to the company and trying to get my dba bearings at the same time)

also, how does that space actually get allocated? is it initially assigned and then fluctuates with db and log growth?  i want to be sure i'm looking at the right figures for tracking and planning db sizes, as well as keeping an eye on when to shrink or grow dbs. 

thanks in advance for helping out a beginner!

• The size of your T-Log is based on your backup Recovery Model.

http://msdn.microsoft.com/library/default.asp?url=/library/en-us/adminsql/ad_bkprst_4l83.asp

Transaction logs grow alot specifically when in Full Recovery mode when there is alot of activity, and no Log backups.

http://msdn.microsoft.com/library/default.asp?url=/library/en-us/adminsql/ad_bkprst_565v.asp

You do want to Shrink the log to a more manageable size especially for backup and restore purposes. Set up incremental backups or Transaction log backups throughout the day, and it will keep the log at a more manageable size